LibGuides: CIEE3120/5120: Literacy and Learning in the Inclusive Classroom: Online Sources to Find Children's Books

Library Catalogs

JerseyCat: Search many New Jersey library catalogs at one time. Use Choose Resources to select libraries near you.

Area Public Library Catalogs

Bergen County Libraries

Passaic County Libraries

Morris County Libraries

Sussex County Libraries

Databases for Teachers and Librarians

These online subscription databases are useful for finding children's literature. The Cheng Library will not have many of the titles listed. You may need to use your local public or school library.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
Contains over one million fiction/non-fiction titles, hundreds of thousands of awards and professional reviews including author/title links, lesson plans and teaching guides. The search engine offers multiple options including 50 search filters for finding materials to determine interest and reading levels, selecting trade books based on standards, creating thematic and annotated biographies, interpreting reviews, developing classroom collections, book challenges and collection development. [1761 - present]
NoveList K-8 Plus This link opens in a new window
Subject access for over 59,000 fiction and nonfiction titles aimed at the K-8 population. Also offers full-text reviews for sources like School Library Journal and Booklist. Includes access to teacher resources for promoting reading, articles on teaching with fiction, scripts of book talks, and tips on using picture books as a springboard to interesting and educational activities. Cost: Free through NJ State Library.

Free Online Databases for Children's Books

These online databases that are freely available on the web:

Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University
This site offers a database with abstracts of over 5000 children's picture books, accessible by keyword or subject search screens. Especially useful for identifying children's historical fiction books, via the Social Studies/History subject heading links.
Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature
Compiled and indexed by librarian, Lisa R. Bartle, this database can create tailored reading lists of quality children's literature. Indexes over 8000 titles and 91 book awards from English speaking countries.

Have a Question? Contact a Librarian:

By phone

Call 973-720-2116

The Reference Desk is staffed until 10PM Sunday-Friday and until 8:00pm on Saturday.

By e-mail

Send your question to the Reference Desk via email - refdesk@wpunj.edu Allow 24 hours for a response.

Schedule a Research Appointment

Contact the library for an appointment with a Reference Librarian: Schedule Research Help

Education Librarian

Neil Grimes

Email Me

Contact:

Education & Curriculum Materials Librarian
Office, Room 114c
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-3184

Subjects: Education Research, Education, Elementary & Early Childhood P-8, Education, Middle & Secondary 6-12, Educational Leadership and Professional Studies