Environmental Science Resources: Locating Articles

Using Library Databases to Find Articles: To locate articles using Library databases, you can go to the list of Library Databases from the Library homepage. Since we have more than 100 databases, you can browse them by subject or you can select the first letter of the database name from the alphabetical directory. Most databases are accessible from off campus and some of the databases you may find useful to locate Environmental Science related articles include:

Many, if not all, of the library databases allow you to create accounts within the database to store your articles and searches for future reference.

When completing a search, you will often see options such as "Mark" or "Add to Folder" . If you decide to use this feature you will need to create an account in the database. The good news is that once you create an account in an EBSCO database such as PsycInfo, you can add items from any of their databases using the same username and password. The same holds true for the ProQuest databases.

Database Searching Tips

Select/switch to the advanced search option

• Do a keyword search first to see what is available
• Too many results? Add an additional term or two
• Too few results? Think of synonyms for your term(s)
• Many databases have a Thesaurus function
• Refine or limit your search to scholarly/peer reviewed articles
• All databases allow you to print or email your results
• Use the reference list from an article to locate additional sources