LibGuides: Africana-World Studies: Web Resources

Found a Citation?

Citation Tracking

When reviewing articles and books, or even searching the Internet, you might come across citations for other articles that you'd like to see. Citation tracking is the act of looking for the original source of that citation and can be a bit challenging with so many databases to choose from at the Library!

This short tutorial will show you how to use the main search box on our website to see if we have access to the article you're after.

If we don't have an article at all, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan (see below).

If, on the other hand, you see that the article is only available in a physical format (Available at Cheng Library Periodicals Collection), complete an Article Request Form to have us digitize it for you!.

*** Before using your credit card to pay for articles online, be sure to contact the Library to see if we can get it for you, for free!

Online Resources

Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources
One of the oldest comprehensive guides to Africana on the web, originally created for the African Studies Association. Maintained by Karen Fung, Curator, African Collection, Stanford University Libraries.

This is a list of general Africana resources. If you are looking for information about a specific topic, see the categories described below.

African Studies Center (University of Pennsylvania)
Comprehensive annotated directory of web-based resources covers all aspects of Africa.
allAfrica.com
Major news site for Africa posts over 700 stories daily in English and French and offers a diversity of multi-lingual streaming programming.
An A-Z of African Studies on the Internet
Link directory maintained by Peter Limb at the Michigan State University Africana Library encompasses Internet sites and email/discussion list addresses and any other e-resources of relevance to Africa or African studies.

African-American History

The African-American Experience in Ohio, 1850-1920
This selection of manuscript and printed text and images drawn from the collections of the Ohio Historical Society illuminates the history of black Ohio from 1850 to 1920. Part of the Library of Congress' American Memory project.

This is a hand selected list of sites and digital collections about African history.

The African Presence in the Americas: 1492-1992
Exhibition portfolio from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture (New York Public Library) explores the "dynamics and dimensions of the 500 year history of African people" in North, Central, and South America and the Caribbean, focusing on themes of migration, work, culture, and resistance.
Africans in America (1450-1865)
Companion site to the PBS series Africans in America (available on video, Call Number VC4600, Vols. 284-287). Traces the history of Africans in America in four chronological parts from 1450-1865.
Afro-Americans in New Jersey: A Short History, by Giles R. Wright
A "concise history" of issues related to New Jersey's laws and conditions of blacks since the seventeenth century. [New Jersey State Historical Commission]. You must have Acrobat Reader instralled on your machine to view this document. If you would like to see the printed version, the library has a copy available in New Jersey Documents collection with the call number 974.90H673 1988f.
Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive
A project of the University of Southern Mississippi Libraries, this online collection currently features over 140 oral history transcripts on the civil rights movement, including the testimony of several civil rights leaders.
Color Us Black! (Part 1)
Video discussing student actions at Howard University in 1968 when the Administration Building was occupied and the university shut down.
Color Us Black! (Part 2)
Video discussing student actions at Howard University in 1968 when the Administration Building was occupied and the university shut down.
Freedom's Journal Online
Freedom's Journal was the "first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States. The Journal was published weekly in New York City from 1827 to 1829....All 103 issues of the Freedom's Journal have been digitized and placed into Adobe Acrobat format." From the library of the Wisconsin Historical Society.
From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1824-1909
A digitized full-text collection of 397 pamphlets from the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress, published from 1824 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics.
Slave Movement During the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries
This site provides access to the raw data and documentation including records of slave ship movement between Africa and the Americas, slave ships of eighteenth century France, slave trade to Rio de Janeiro, Virginia slave trade in the eighteenth century, English slave trade (House of Lords Survey), Angola, Rio de Janeiro, Havana, Cuba, Nantes, and Jamaica.
"Steal Away, Steal Away...": A Guide to the Underground Railroad in New Jersey
Publication of significance to those interested in New Jersey locations identified as part of the Underground Railroad. Other items of note in this publication includes maps of the Railroad routes in the US, Canada and New Jersey.

Community/Economic Development

MBendi: Information for Africa
Based in South Africa, this website contains extensive reference information on countries and industry sectors, particularly oil and gas, electrical power, chemicals, mining and telecommunications, backed up by databases of companies, organisations, personalities, projects, facilities, events and publications.

Use these sites to research community and economic development, as well as social services.

Cangonet (Caribbean Ecotourism List)
Cangonet is an electronic forum devoted to discussions and reference exchange on Caribbean ecotourism issues (including sustainable, alternative tourism and sustainable/community/social, cultural, rural, agricultural, etc. tourism).
International Ecotourism Society
Dedicated to providing its members with information on "responsible travel." Important statistical information is available free of charge to researchsers via their Eco-Professional page and access to current items such as their publication the Observer.
Inter-Sectoral Unit for Tourism (Organization of American States)
A site dedicated to tourism activities and its impact on the region, the OAS commissioned the Caribbean Tourism Survey in order to garner relevant demographics and facts about the industry.
Sustainable Tourism (United Nations Commission on Sustainable Development)
The United Nations Economica and Social Council has valuable resources available on its website regarding countries and the impact of tourism on develoment.
UN World Tourism Organzition
An organization dedicated to the study of tourism, this site provides useful research resources on the industry. Seek links likethe "Facts and Figures" and "Sustainable Development of Tourism."
World Travel & Tourism Council
Dedicated to enhancing industry performance, this site offers a variety of resources on countries, statistics and policy statements.

Culture: Language, Literature and the Performing Arts

Hausa Home Page
Site devoted to the Hausa language, spoken primarily in Nigeria and other parts of West Africa. Includes a map of where Hausa is spoken, an online grammar, audio phrases, a list of resources, and information on dialects, pronunciation, writing, and Hausa poetry and song. From the University of California, Los Angeles. [Librarians' Index to the Internet]

The Kamusi Project
The Internet Living Swahili Dictionary is a collaborative work by people all over the world, working to establish new dictionaries of the Swahili language - Kiswahili - both within Swahili and between Swahili and English. The Kamusi Project is an undertaking of the Yale Program in African Languages and the Council on African Studies at Yale.
Contes Africains
African short stories written in French. Information on the oral tradition in African literature and on the genre of the conte africain. Bibliography and external links. [MERLOT]
African Art Exhibits
Directory of African Art exhibits at American colleges and universities.
African Music and Dance
This site is maintained by C. K. Ladzekpo at UC Berkeley. It includes valuable information about the culture and music of the Ewe people of Ghana, Togo, and Benin. The site includes many photos and video clips.
Jacob Lawrence Visual Archive and Education Center
Jacob Lawrence (1917-2000) was "the first American artist of African descent to receive sustained mainstream recognition in the United States." This site includes images of his paintings, a biography, essays on Lawrence's artistic technique, a bibliography, links to related sites, and lesson plans. [MERLOT]
JazzWeb (WUNR-FM, Chicago)
This site is a gateway to information about musicianship, artists, events, and jazz labels on the web.
National Museum of African Art (Smithsonian Institution)
The museum accepts into its collections and exhibits the art of all African areas, including the ancient and contemporary arts for the entire continent.

Social Science

Institute on Domestic Violence in the African American Community
Site of the institute located in St. Paul, Minnesota, "focused on setting an agenda to reduce/eliminate domestic violence in the African American community." Contains background information on the institute, bibliographies (topics include Violence Against Women, Child Abuse and Neglect, and Black Males and Violence), hotline numbers, and issues of the newsletter Assembling the Pieces: An African American Perspective on Community and Family Violence.

These resources will assist you with Social Sciences research and include websites and digital collections that include Gender and Family Life and Racism/Sexism in the United States.

Southern Poverty Law Center
This organization combats hate, intolerance and discrimination through education and litigation. Includes Klanwatch and Militia Task Force, which monitor white supremacist and extremist activity, Legal Action, current and historical civil rights cases, and Teaching Tolerance, excerpts from this free to educators magazine, including an excellent, annotated, Recommended Reading list.
Virtual Jim Crow Museum of Racist Memorabilia
Take the virtual tour of the museum or browse through an array of material presented to "promote racial tolerance by helping people understand the historical and contemporary expressions of intolerance." Each cartoon, caricature, object, and image of African American stereotypes includes historical background notes. From Ferris State University, Big Rapids, MI.

African Politics

Conterporary Conflicts in Africa
This is a list of current links maintained by Mt. Holyoke

INCORE Internet Country Guides
The Initiative on Conflict Resolution and Ethnicity's site has many guides available for conflict hot spots in Africa. These guides are selective, briefly annotated lists of links for news, maps, mailing lists, and general resources about each country. [Librarians' Index to the Internet]

Website Evaluation

While it may seem easier to do a web search for information rather than use a library database, you need to critically evaluate web sites. While there are numerous web pages that describe how to evaluate a web site, here are a few that you may find useful:

Evaluation Criteria: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly: Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources

Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask

Website Evaluation Wizard