Skip to main content

CIED2050: Foundations of Bilingual & Multicultural Education: Finding Articles about Education

Tips for Searching Databases

All databases will give you the option of limiting your search to Scholarly or Peer Reviewed articles.

Do not check the Full-Text only box. This will limit you to only the full-text available in THAT database, not to the extensive list of journals that are available from the Cheng Library.

If you get too few or no results, check your spelling, or use related seach terms, e.g. instead of grade 12, try secondary education.

If you find a good source, look at the descriptors or subject terms to identify helpful search terms.

Use the term, and, to narrow your search, e.g. computers and instruction.

Use the term, or,  with related terms to broaden your search, e.g. computers or technology.

For best results search for your topic in multiple databases, but be aware that you may need to adjust your search terms accordingly.

If working on a major research project, keep a search journal listing the databases used, the search terms tried, and the success of the search. This can keep you from repeating an unsuccessful search.

 

Finding Articles about Education Topics

Here are links and brief descriptions of the Library databases that can be used to find articles about education.

Browse Selected Journals

Here are some journals about bilingual and English language learners:

  Have a Question? Contact a Librarian:

By phone

Call 973-720-2116

The Reference Desk is staffed until 10PM Sunday-Friday and until 8:00pm on Saturday.

By e-mail

Send your question to the Reference Desk via email - refdesk@wpunj.edu   Allow 24 hours for a response. 

Schedule a Research Appointment

Contact the library for an appointment with a Reference Librarian:  Schedule Research Help