Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Books & Media
Search the Cheng Library online catalog for books and media. If you need journal articles, go to our Databases page.
Have a Question? Contact a Librarian:
The Reference Desk is staffed until 10PM Sunday-Friday and until 8:00pm on Saturday.
Send your question to the Reference Desk via email - firstname.lastname@example.org Allow 24 hours for a response.
Schedule a Research Appointment
Contact the library for an appointment with a Reference Librarian: Schedule Research Help
Background Information about Countries
If you are looking for information about education in a specific country, try one of these sources:
Europa World Year Book
Call Number: Reference JN1 .E85 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Three volume directory that includes geographic, historical, economic and statistical information about individual countries.
Call Number: [Reference] JA51 .S7 2018
Annual print directory with information about many foreign countries. Education is listed under Social Institutions.
Originally published as books these reports were prepared by the Library of Congress between 1988 and 2008. While they provide overviews of over 100 countries some information is dated.
US Bilateral Relations Fact Sheet.
The US Department of State provides this background information about each country focusing on its relationship with the United States.
World Data on Education 2010-11
Issued by UNESCO this provides a detailed report on the educational system in each country. The reports are published in either English, French or Spanish.
Current snapshot of over 250 countries prepared by the CIA. Includes extensive statistical information.
World Book Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of the World Book Encyclopedia. Go to the bottom of the webpage and click on the link for World Book Products. Select Advanced for more in-depth information.
Use one or more of these print encyclopedias from the Cheng Library's Reference collection.
International Encyclopedia of Education
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2010
Looks at education from an international perspective. Covers topics from early childhood education to adult education; research; curriculum development; and national systems of education.