Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Instruments, Surveys & Tools
Where can I find free surveys, questionnaires, or other research instruments?
Center for AIDS Prevention Studies: CAPS Instruments
Provides links to surveys in Spanish and English with links to information about reliability, validity, and scoring when available.
Center on Alcoholism, Substance Abuse, and Addictions
University of New Mexico's Center on Alcoholism, Substance Abuse and Addictions instruments are in Spanish and English.
City of Hope Pain & Palliative Care Resource Center
Research instruments for pain, quality of life, and end of life.
Duke University's Department of Community and Family Medicine
Includes instruments and scoring instructions for health profile, anxiety-depression, social support and stress.
Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing: Assessment Tools
Links to tools to study falls risk, sleepiness, caregiver burden, and other research issues for elderly patients.
Indiana University, Bloomington: Alcohol Research and Health History Questionnaires
There is no charge to use these questionnaires for student projects. Provides links to instruments, validity and reliability articles, and scoring criteria.
Multidimensional Measurement of Religiousness/Spirituality for Use in Health Research
Provided by the Fetzer Institute in collaboration with The National Institute on Aging, part of the National Institutes of Health.
Psychological Tests for Student Use
These tests are available for free for student use. Information about validity and reliability is not included students will need to verify and evaluate these tests for themselves.
RAND Health: Surveys & Tools
These surveys and tools are public documents available for free when used for non-commercial purposes. These are organized by broad topic area.
Stanford School of Medicine: Research Instruments
The Standford Pateint Education Research Center provides instruments, and coding/scoring instructions as PDF files. These instruments may be used at no cost and without permission.
Substance Use Screening & Assessment Instruments Database
Sponsored by the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Institute at the University of Washington, this resource provides links to instruments for screening and assessment.
UConn Rudd Center for Food Policy & Obesity: Tools for Researchers
Provides a number of tools to assess weight bias, intervention effectiveness, scales to measure attitudes and beliefs about obesity. Includes scoring information and complete citation for each tool.