LibGuides: Armenian Genocide Studies: Holocaust Education Resources

Associations and Organizations

Anti-Defamation League
With a subtitle of Fighting Anti-Semitism and Hate the ADL includes lesson plans and other resources for teaching PreK through 12 about bias, bullying and the Holocaust. Provides teaching resources in response to contemporary issues that are related to the Holocaust.
New Jersey Commission on Holocaust Education
The core mission of the New Jersey Commission on Holocaust Education is to promote Holocaust education in the State of New Jersey. This website includes links to PDF's of New Jersey's K-12 Curriculum Guides, as well as lists of additional resources.
Simon Wiesenthal Center
Named after a Holocaust survivor who became a Nazi hunter this human rights organization researches anti-semitism throughout the world in both historic and contemporary events. Follow the link to The Museum or Tolerance for lesson plans and learning activities for grades 3-12.
Learning for Justice
A Project of the Southern Poverty Law Center the Teaching Tolerance website provides resources and support for reducing prejudice and encouraging respect for differences in schools. Resources include free film kits, an online magazine, a blog of news items, sample lesson plans and teaching activities.
USC Shoah Foundation
With a mission to develop empathy, understanding and respect through testimony the USC Shoah Foundation has the world's largest video archive of testimonies from the survivors of the Holocaust as well as four other genocides of the 20th century. Includes extensive resources regarding the study of genocide including IWitness, a curriculum for grades 5 to 12.

Booklists

Character Education
This selected list of curriculum resources can be used for character education in the
Pre-K-12 classroom. Sample juvenile titles are suggested for use in teaching specific
qualities: caring, citizenship, fairness, respect, responsibility, and trustworthiness.
Holocaust Education Resources
The Holocaust Education Collection provides print and media resources for teachers K-12. The collection includes teaching resources, background information, and books for Kindergarten through high school.

Holocaust Education in New Jersey

In 1994 a bill, 18A:35-28, mandating Holocaust/genocide education in New Jersey schools from Kindergarten through Grade 12 was signed into law. Shortly afterwards a small collection of Holocaust education materials was started in the Curriculum Materials Center (CMC) of the David and Lorraine Cheng Library of William Paterson University. This LibGuide identifies both materials available in that collection as well as other resources for teaching about Holocaust and genocide.