LibGuides: SPM4500 Contemporary Issues in Sport Management: Locating Articles

Search Tip: Keywords

It is usually a good idea to start out broadly, so using just one or two of your topic terms is a good way to begin. Once you have a set of results, you can begin narrowing down your results by entering one or more terms. Searching in a specific field such as "Subject" or "Title" will narrow or focus your results.

Search Tip: Truncation

Truncation Finds Multiple Word Forms

The asterisk (*) is usually used to search words with the same root:

Person* = Personal, Personality, Personable, etc.

Wildcard symbols (usually a ‘?’) replace a single letter:

Wom?n = Woman, Women

Search Tip: Use the References

Once you locate a few good articles on your topic, be sure to review the references to other articles that are cited. This is a great way to locate related research articles on your topic. Many databases also provide a link to these articles if they are available electronically. If you don't find a link, be sure to check the Library's Journals A-Z List to see if it's available, If not, you can always use our awesome Interlibrary Loan Service.

Locating Articles in Databases

Sports Medicine and Education Index
This database provides specialized, editorially curated resources critical to researchers with an academic, professional or personal interest in the field of physical education. Through scholarly and trade literature, the database covers a wide range of topics, ranging from physical and health education to fitness and recreation and the business of sports, as well as kinesiology, physical therapy, motor learning, and sport sociology and psychology. [ 1970 - Present ]
ABI/Inform Complete (Business Periodicals Database)
A comprehensive full-text source on business topics, ABI/INFORM features scholarly research from peer-reviewed journals (including over 3,000 full-text publications), trade and industry news, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data.
Business Source Elite
Full text for over 1,000 scholarly business journals (with current coverage for 490 titles), plus over 10,000 other business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business.
Google Scholar (Full Text @ Cheng Library)
Access full-text articles from the Library's subscription e-journals using the familiar Google search engine.

For access to our subscription journals through Google Scholar, select the link above and then follow these steps:

1. Click on the top-left corner menu on the screen

2. Select "Settings" from the menu

3. On the next page, select "Library links" from the menu on the left side of the screen

4. Type "cheng" in the search field and run the search

5. Select "David and Lorraine Cheng Library - Full Text@Cheng Library" and then click on the "Save" button

This will enable you to see the "Full Text@Cheng Library" links displayed with your search results.

Theses and Dissertations

Theses and Dissertations @ The William Paterson University of New Jersey
The product of a collaboration between the Cheng Library and the University's Graduate programs, a collection of over 230 digitized master's theses is now available online through the ProQuest search interface. The majority of titles in the collection are from recent Communication Disorders and Music program graduates, but in 2010 the program is expanding to include other programs and the collection will grow as new theses are submitted for digitization. [2008 - Present]
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
Open Access Theses and Dissertations is a resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Over 1,100 colleges, universities, and research institutions contribute data to provide access to over 6.9 million these and dissertations.