LibGuides: New Jersey History Day 2024: Paterson Academy for the Gifted and Talented Links

Recommended Sites for Paterson Gifted and Talented Academy

General State and Local History Resources

Jersey City Past and Present
The Jersey City: Past and Present website is a digital project of New Jersey City University (NJCU). Its goal is to inform viewers, in words and images, about Jersey City, and to bring together the community and the university's Internet technology services. The overall purpose of the project is to produce an encyclopedia-like resource about the history of Jersey City for use by a wide audience of scholars, librarians, teachers, students, and the general public. Students and teachers may use the comprehensive electronic resource to bring the city's "past and present" into the classroom via the Internet.
Kean University New Jersey History Project
This collection consists of mostly full view (and some limited view) non-fiction books and novels that represent the broad and rich history of New Jersey in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. There are 419 items in the collection.
Newark, New Jersey African American Newspapers
This collection consists of issues of African-American newspapers published in Newark. Titles include the Newark Herald, Advance, Herald Advance and New Jersey Herald News. These newspapers brought news of the African American community in Newark to surrounding areas from the 1930s to the 1960s. Unfortunately, the full run of this newspaper was not preserved. This digital collection contains all the issues owned by the Charles F. Cummings New Jersey Information Center at Newark Public Library.
The Newark Evening News (September 1, 1883 - February 4, 1931)
There is probably no more important resource for the study of Newark in the 20th century than the Newark Evening News, New Jersey’s newspaper of record. The Newark Public Library is currently undertaking a new initiative to digitize the Newark Evening News, and over 40 years are currently available.
Newark Public Library Digital Collections
The Newark Public Library has digitized a portion of its historical materials which are available in a digital archive. Materials currently available cover the history of African-Americans, women, community organizing, immigrants, Hispanic Americans, the LGBTQ+ population, and other topics.
New Jersey Digital Highway: Electronic New Jersey
Electronic New Jersey contains 23 curriculum units about New Jersey history and its relationship to major themes in U. S. and Global History. This online learning environment provides students and teachers with access to content, instructional activities and assessments using source materials drawn primarily from the Rutgers University Special Collections and University Archives, along with other New Jersey repositories.
New Jersey Digital Newspaper Project (part of the Chronicling America collection)
The New Jersey Digital Newspaper Project (NJDNP) is a collaboration of the Rutgers University Libraries, the New Jersey State Archives, and the New Jersey State Library. It currently features 23 digitized newspapers, with coverage spanning the 19th and early 20th centuries.
New Jersey Materials in the Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) currently contains over 21,000 digitized items about New Jersey, including images, text, moving images, audio files, and digitized physical objects. You can also search the DPLA for materials on Paterson.
New Jersey Resources (from the New Jersey State Library)
Includes the Digital Jerseyana Collection, New Jersey Digital Collections Highlights, and a New Jersey State Publications Digital Library.
New Jersey Women’s History Project
The New Jersey Women’s History Project is an educational resource for students, teachers, and those interested in learning more about the history of women in New Jersey. Utilizing digital scholarship, historical research methods, and blended and experiential learning techniques, the project aims to research, document, and curate the historical and cultural contributions of New Jersey women. The project currently includes biographies of New Jersey Women, information on a wide variety of historical topics, and an extensive bibliography of resources.
New Jersey Writers' Project Photograph Collection, ca. 1935-1942
The Federal Writers' Project was established in 1935 by the Works Progress Administration (WPA), a Great Depression-era program to create jobs. The Project produced local histories, oral histories, ethnographies, children’s stories, and other written works in monograph form and serially. This database indexes and displays nearly 4,000 images produced or collected by the Writer’s Project/Program for use as illustrations in their publications. They include original photography depicting New Jersey sites, people, and activities in the 1930s-40s as well as copy work. Subjects include historic buildings, local industry (e.g., factory workers in Paterson; shipbuilding in Camden), recreation, famous New Jerseyans, etc. Some localities are more extensively documented than others, depending upon the stories and articles published.
Sanborn Maps of New Jersey: Paterson (hosted by Princeton University)
The Sanborn Map Company is the oldest mapping company in the United States. Founded in 1866, the company created detailed building maps of cities and towns all across the country, primarily for use by insurance companies. The maps on this page provide unique snapshots of the geography of Paterson in the years 1887, 1899, 1915, 1918, and 1922. A similar collection is available for Passaic.

13th Amendment

Try a search in the PALSPLUS catalog using the search term "United States Constitution 13th Amendment"
The 13th Amendment: Abolition of Slavery - The National Constitution Center's page on the 13th Amendment includes many supplemental materials, including interpretations and debate about the amendment, a podcast, a town hall video, a blog, and other materials.
13th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution: Primary Documents in American History - This Library of Congress Research Guide includes useful primary source documents related to the Amendment, including congressional debates, presidential documents, African American pamphlets, articles from contemporary newspapers, and more.
13th (Documentary) - This 2016 documentary film explores the "intersection of race, justice, and mass incarceration in the United States." it is titled after the Thirteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution, adopted in 1865, which abolished slavery throughout the United States and ended involuntary servitude except as a punishment for conviction of a crime.

9/11

Try a search in the PALSPLUS catalog using the search term "September 11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001"
Today in History - September 11 - This page from the Library of Congress includes links to several archival resources on the 2001 terrorist attacks, including an online exhibition featuring eyewitness accounts and commentaries; cartographic materials; photographs; and a web archive.
Remembering 9/11 - This page from the National Archives features links to many records related to the September 11, 2001, attacks on the United States, including those of the 9/11 Commission, the 9/11 Federal Aviation Administration records, and the records of the George W. Bush Presidential Library.
9/11 Memorial and Museum - The Museum's website includes digital exhibits, interactive timelines, oral histories, and a basic primer on the events.

Alexander Hamilton

Hamilton Papers Online [try searching for Society for Establishing Useful Manufactures]
An Act to incorporate the Contributors to the Society for Establishing Useful Manufactures, and for the further Encouragement of the said Society," Acts of the Sixteenth General Assembly of the State of New Jersey, at a Session Begun at Trenton the 25th Day of October 1791 and Continued by Adjournments. Being the Second Sitting. Burlington: Printed by Isaac Neale, 1792.
Shriner, Charles A. Four Chapters of Paterson History: I. The War for Independence. II. The Early White Settlers. III. Struggle for Industrial Supremacy. IV. Municipal Administration. Paterson, NJ: Lont & Overkamp Pub. Co. Printers, 1919. [see especially Chapter III, Struggle for Industrial Supremacy, pages 53-89]
Trumbull, L. R. A History of Industrial Paterson ... Together with Outlines of State County and Local History. Paterson, NJ: C.M. Herrick Printer, 1882.

Battle of Hastings (1066)

Try a search in the PALSPLUS catalog using the search term "Hastings, Battle of, England, 1066"
History of Battle Abbey and Battlefield - This page, maintained by the historical preservation organization English Heritage, discusses the prelude to the Battle of Hastings, the key events of the battle, and the history of the Battle Abbey site.
The Battle of Hastings: Fact and Fiction - This page, maintained by the British Library, features important information about the Battle of Hastings plus links to additional historical resources on the era.
1066: The Year That Changed England - This site, featuring objects from museums across the United Kingdom, provides an account of the Battle of Hastings and its significance.

Black Death, The

Try a search in the PALSPLUS catalog using the search term "Black Death History"
The Black Death and its Aftermath - Part of a series titled "Origins: Current Events in Historical Perspective" hosted by Ohio State University, this page contains an essay on the history of the Black Death by historian John Brooke, an accompanying video, and links to related topics.
The Black Death: The Greatest Catastrophe Ever - A 2005 essay by historian Ole Benedictow published in "History Today" magazine includes a well-selected bibliography of additional sources on this topic.
The Black Death (Manchester Medieval Sources Series) by Rosemary Horrox - This book, available for electronic loan through the Internet Archive (create a free account for borrowing privileges), contains useful primary sources in translation.

Declaration of Independence

Try a search in the PALSPLUS catalog using the search term "United States Declaration of Independence"
The Declaration of Independence: A History - Page on the National Archives website contains a brief history of the Declaration and a subsequent history of the document itself.
Declaration of Independence: Right to Institute New Government - This page, part of an exhibit about Thomas Jefferson at the Library of Congress, features several historical documents pertaining to the Declaration of Independence.
Primary Documents in American History: Declaration of Independence - This page, maintained by the Library of Congress, contains many links to primary sources related to the Declaration of Independence.

Establishment of Maoism in China
Fall of the Berlin Wall
Fall of the Roman Empire
Golden Age of Islam
Great Depression, The
Guatemalan War
Immigration Act of 1965
Industrial Revolution
Invention of the Camera
Johnson & Johnson
Making of Technology & the Internet
Manhattan Project
Martin Luther King, Jr.
Neil Armstrong
Paterson Silk Strike 1913
Pearl Harbor Attack
Polio Vaccine
Printing Press
Radium Girls of NJ
Spanish American War
Treaty of Westphalia (1648)
Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire

Subject Guide

Richard Kearney

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470

973-720-2165

Subjects: Art, Business, Economics, Finance, and Global Business, History, Liberal Studies, Open Access / Open Educational Resources