SOC2240 Social Work Policy and Practice: Databases & eBooks

Sociological Abstracts, which includes the companion file Social Services Abstracts, covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers. [ 1952 - Present ]

Full-text database designed to provide multiple sides of a variety of current issues. The database currently offers materials on 200 topics, and each topic section features an overview along with point and counterpoint essays drawn from a variety of sources, plus supplementary information including primary source documents and guides to critical thinking.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Approximately 2,500 titles are now being monitored for coverage; of these, around 60% are published outside the United States. As well as journals, the database also indexes books, book chapters, reviews of books and other media, and dissertations. [ 1975 - Present ]

Bibliographic database contains over 450,000 citations and abstracts for journal and magazine articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering the world's scholarly literature about the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes material from over 1,820 journals and magazines written in over 40 languages, although the majority of items were published in English. Most of the items in the database were issued after 1954. Many records contain links to full-text articles in other Library databases. [1954 - present]

Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of over 20,000 issues of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. The Catalog contains over 500,000 descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. [July 1976 - present]

Two publications providing detailed coverage of Congress and legislative issues. The CQ Magazine offers timely coverage of the status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. The CQ Researcher focuses on in-depth analysis about current and controversial issues; each edition concentrates on a single theme.

Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields. [ 1981 - Present ]

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) is a major source of news, legal, and business information, containing over 15,000 full-text publications. The database provides current local, regional, national and international newspapers, broadcast media transcripts, newswires, and blogs. The legal section offers federal and state statutes, administrative codes, court opinions, briefs, pleadings and motions, administrative materials, law reviews and legal news. The business sections contains information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives, including company profiles, SEC filings, analyst reports, directories, and more. Nexis Uni also offers several useful personalized features for students and faculty who create individual accounts on the database after logging in, including the ability to customize the home page, save searches for later re-use, create search alerts on topics of interest, bookmark documents for later viewing, and retain search history to identify previously-viewed documents. With a personal account, students and faculty can also collaborate by creating and sharing research folders, sharing search strings, and highlighting or annotating documents in a folder.

The Statista database is a portal to statistical information, pulling together data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Data sources include market research reports, such as the Ipsos Affluent Survey published annually by Ipsos Media, Simmons National Consumer Studies and Consumer Insights from Scarborough Research, as well as trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, Statista provides available information about the source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification. The data can easily be exported to graphic formats, Excel, or PowerPoint for analysis or incorporation into presentations.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the most authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. It offers convenient access to a wide variety of data on such topics as population, education, elections, all major sectos of the economy, health and nutrition, government, science and technology, transportation, housing, and much more. Every table in the Statistical Abstract provides citations to more extensive and detailed sources of data for its subject, which also makes it an efficient guide to data sources. The data in the Statistical Abstract is drawn from the Census Bureau, the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. [2013 - Present]

This database offers full-text access to over 250 consumer legal reference books and practical guides from respected publishers like Nolo, Atlantic Publishing Company, and Socrates Media, plus thousands of legal forms from every U.S. state. Topics covered include accident claims, bankruptcy, property law, family law, estate and financial planning, immigration, travel, and much more. [Database access funded by the New Jersey State Library.]