LibGuides: PBHL1100: Healthy U: Locating Library Resources

Getting Started

When choosing a topic, it may be necessary to do some preliminary research before getting started.

Overview sources like the ones below are a great place to begin!

Credo Reference's Academic Core This link opens in a new window
Credo is a most useful starting point for general research on almost any topic. Easy to search and browse, everything is available as full-text, and its mind-map helps to explore related ideas.
Gale Health and Wellness (formerly Health and Wellness Resource Center) This link opens in a new window
While also useful for finding articles, Health & Wellness Resource Center provides a Browse Topics section for locating overview information on a wide range of health-related topics.

Finding Books & Media

The Library has a wide range of materials available for your research needs.

While reading an entire book might be a lot to ask in a single class, sometimes all you need is a chapter or two!

Use the search below to see what's available on a given topic, and limit to Available Online to see our large collection of ebooks and streaming media!

Looking for Books? Search here!

Search the Cheng Library online catalog for books and media. If you need journal articles, go to our Databases page.

Suggest Databases for Locating Articles

The Library has lots of article databases available for finding scholarly studies, news, and other types of information about your topics.

The following are a few good options for finding health-related information.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine (formerly Health Reference Center Academic) This link opens in a new window
Contains up-to-date information on a wide variety of health care topics, with access to more than 2,500 full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Large, interdisciplinary full-text database contains over 8,500 full-text publications, including academic journals, magazines, books, and trade publications.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text.

Tutorials

The Library has a number of tutorials to help you get started with research.

Check out our Tutorials page for more options!

Scholarly/Popular
Learn the differences between scholarly and popular articles, and the peer review process!
Keywords: A Quick Guide
It is usually a good idea to start out broadly, so using just one or two of your topic terms is a good way to begin. Once you have a set of results, you can begin narrowing down your results by entering one or more terms. Searching in a specific field such as "Subject" or "Title" will narrow or focus your results.
Parts of a Research Article
Learn how to identify research studies for your academic work by looking at the distinct sections of a research article.