Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Top Picks: Home

General resources for educators in grades Pre-K-12.

Associations/Organizations

New Jersey Department of Education
Find information from the New Jersey Department of Education under "Families," "Students,""Educators," or " Communitiy." This site is useful for New Jersey's official positions on school reform, school-to-work programs, and other educational issues.
Grades: PreK - 12
U. S. Department of Education
Find out about the policies and functions of the U.S. Department of Education. Includes information about grants, legislation, and other education news. Provides educational statistics, and other information.
Grades: PreK - 12
William Paterson University College of Education
The College of Education of William Paterson University of New Jersey serves as a major resource for educational practitioners and institutions by preparing students for entry into teaching and education-related professions.
Grades: PreK - 12

Lesson Plans and Teaching Activities

Busy Teachers' Cafe
Find activities for teaching theme units, many other teaching activities and strategies, printables and other resources. Many literacy instructional activities and classroom management ideas. Developed by Erika Gomez-Schanne, a teacher in Passaic, NJ. Some advertisements.
Grades: K - 6
EDSITEment
From the National Endowment for the Humanities, this site contains lesson plans for a variety of subjects in the humanities (arts & culture, foreign languages, history & social studies, literature & language arts) and identifies valuable humanities web sites and educational news.
Grades: K - 12
Education World
A comprehensive site which call itself "The Educator's Best Friend." Major sections for Teachers, Administrators, Lesson Plans, Technology, Professional Development, and the Education World Community. Includes Tools and Templates, resources by Subjects, Worksheets, Holiday activities, Standards and recommendations for improving School Climate.
Grades: PreK - 12

Bibliographies and Research Guides

Curriculum Resources for Lesson Planning
An introduction to the PreK-Grade 12 resources available in the Curriculum Materials Center of the Cheng Library. It also suggests strategies for finding additional resources.
Grades: PreK - 12

Databases

ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center
"ERIC is a national information system funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences to provide access to education literature and resources." Includes articles and documents on education-related topics. Search the ERIC database from here, or from the Library's database page.
Grades: PreK - 12
Profile Photo
Neil Grimes
Contact:
Education & Curriculum Materials Librarian
Office, Room 114c
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-3184