Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Justice: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints and Controversial Issues
There are several series that discuss controversial viewpoints. These books often provide suggested readings and texts for additional research
- Discrimination - JC599.U5 D57 2008
- Feminism - HQ1155 .F442 2012
- Homelessness - HV4505 .H65528 2012
- Homosexualtiy - HQ76.25 .H67375 2009
- Minimum wage - HD4918 .M59 2012
- Poverty - HC110.P6 P5883 2012
- Race Relations - HT1521 .R337 2011
- Social Justice - HN90.S6 S56 2005
- Welfare - HV91 .W46632 2012
Tips for Effective Search Strategies
- Searching works best when you have a research question in mind. You should be able to identify key concepts related to your research. These concepts form the basis for your search terms.
- Know your topic. Exploring general sources (a chapter in your textbook, an encyclopedia article or other background reading) is a good way to start. The better you undestand a topic, the easier it is to evaluate sources.
- What is your purpose? You may be writing an argumentative or persuasive paper. Or, your assignment may require you to analyze research on a topic. Perhaps you are developing a slide presentation based on your evaluation of key sources.
- Start early. Until you have done some searching and reading, you might not recognize if your topic is too broad or narrow.
- Don't wait until the last minute. Good resources may not be available locally. Allow yourself time for an interlibrary loan.
- Select resources appropriate for your topic. Your professor may ask that you use only peer-reviewed journals. Other professors may want you to use a combination of texts and articles, or news sources. Perhaps you will be doing primary research using interviews or observations.
CivilRights.org Feature Articles
“The struggle of civil rights cannot be won by any one group acting by or for itself alone, but only through a coalition of groups that share a common commitment to equal justice and equal opportunity for everyone.”
– Arnold Aronson, co-founder of The Leadership Conference on Civil Rights and Human Rights
The Leadership Conference on Civil Rights and Human Rights
The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights is a coalition charged by its diverse membership of more than 200 national organizations to promote and protect the civil and human rights of all persons in the United States. Through advocacy and outreach to targeted constituencies, The Leadership Conference works toward the goal of a more open and just society – an America as good as its ideals.
The Leadership Conference is a 501(c)(4) organization that engages in legislative advocacy. It was founded in 1950 and has coordinated national lobbying efforts on behalf of every major civil rights law since 1957.
The Leadership Conference on Civil Rights and Human Rights - Weekly podcasts
Selected Reference Sources
Reference sources can provide good background information plus a list of recommended books and articles at the end of each article. You can find thes by searching the online catalog for the phrase "handbook" or "encyclopedia" in combination with a relevant topic. Or, ask at the Reference Desk for assistance.
- Encyclopedia of Race and Crime (REF HV6789 .E43 2009)
- Encyclopedia of Gender and Society (REF HQ1115 .E54 2009)
- Encyclpedia of Race, Ethnicity and Society (REF HT1521 .E63 2008)
- Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice (REF HM671 .E53 2007)
- Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America ( REF JC599.U5 E53 2005)
- Feminism and Women's Rights Worldwide ( REF HQ1180 .F424 2010)
- Handbook of Gender, Sex, and Media (Circulating collection P96.S5 H36 2012)
- Social Issues in America : an encyclopedia (REF HN57 .S624 2006)
Each of these organizations provides information on current issues, news, and projects. Browsing through each organization's website is a good first step in thinking about possible research topics.