Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

School Libraries and Media: Other Resources

Resources for School Librarians K-12

Resources

Common Sense Media
Designed for use by parents and teachers Common Sense Media evaluates movies, games, apps, websites, television shows, books and music. Searchable by age, entertainment type, topics, etc. this website provides reviews for over 20,000 products. The education portion includes resources for teaching about digital literacy including short videos. Graphite, part of Common Sense Education, identifies the best apps, games, and websites for the classroom.
Grades: PreK - 12
Libraries and Autism: We're Connected
The Scotch Plains Public Library and Fanwood Memorial Library (both in New Jersey) participated in a project to increase awareness of the needs of people with autism, as well as to provide resources for caregivers. This website includes customizable materials, as well as lists of videos, blogs, articles and websites about autism
Grades: PreK - 12
LIIIITES Model
Subtitle: "Eight ways to shape and illuminate the contribution of school library learning commons professionals." David Loertscher of San Jose University's School of Information created this website to highlight the move from traditional school library services to cutting edge services. The LIIIITES acronym stands for Literacies, Information, Inquiry, Instruction, Innovation, Technology, Expertise, Service.
Grades: K - 12
National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped
A branch of the Library of Congress the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped provides free audio and braille materials to certified users. This website gives information about how to apply for this service, the range of services available and online catalogs of materials available.
Grades: PreK - 12
National School Library Standards
Revised by the American Association of School Librarians (AASL) in 2017 National School Library Standards focus on six Shared Foundations. This website includes many resources to understand and to introduce the Standards to others.
Grades: K - 12
Project ENABLE: Expanding Non-Discriminatory Access by Librarians Everywhere
Project ENABLE is a collaborative project of Syracuse University's School of Information Studies, Center for Digital Literacy, and Burton Blatt Institute. It provides continuing education program for school librarians to be better informed about disabilities and to deliver more effective library services to students with disabilities. The website includes online training modules for individuals or groups.
Grades: PreK - 12
SLJ TV
A multimedia creation of School Library Journal, SLJ TV includes interviews with authors and others of interest to librarians, as well as short clips of special events, as well as maker activities.
Grades: K - 12