All databases will give you the option of limiting your search to Scholarly or Peer Reviewed articles.
Do not check the Full-Text only box. This will limit you to only the full-text available in THAT database, not to the extensive list of journals that are available from the Cheng Library.
If your topic is too broad, you'll get too many articles (over 100).
If you get too few or no results, check your spelling, or use related seach terms, e.g. instead of grade 12, try secondary education.
Look at the descriptors or subject terms to identify appropriate search terms.
Use the term, and, to narrow your search, e.g. computers and instruction.
Use the term, or, with related terms to broaden your search, e.g. computers or technology.
Avoid using complete sentences, or prepositional phrases, in the search box.
Different databases use different search terms. You may need to adjust your search terms as you move from one database to another.
If you are working on a major research project, keep a search journal recording the databases you used, the search terms you tried, and the success of the search. This can keep you from repeating an unsuccessful search.
Here are links and brief descriptions of the Library databases that can be used to find articles about education.
1. Click on the top-left corner menu on the screen
2. Select "Settings" from the menu
3. On the next page, select "Library links" from the menu on the left side of the screen
4. Type "cheng" in the search field and run the search
5. Select "David and Lorraine Cheng Library - Full Text@Cheng Library" and then click on the "Save" button
In most of your coursework you will be expected to use high quality, scholarly sources of information. The following tutorial will help you understand what scholarly sources are.