Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PBHL3130: Violence as a Public Health Issue: Finding Articles

Keyword Basics

See how well-selected keywords can make or break a search.

Choosing Search Terms

Public Health Databases

The following databases will help you locate information on a variety of public health topics.  Many of these databases offer full-text access to research, articles, and other publications.  

For a full list of the Library's databases, and other useful resources, visit our homepage: www.wpunj.edu/library.

Article Databases:
After identifying keywords (search terms), these databases can be great places to find research articles on your topic.  If you have too many results, try narrowing with the limiters on the side of the results pages.

Overview Databases:
Great for getting concise information about broad topics.  Not usually research articles, but can help you to narrow the scope of your research.

Sociology Databases:
Another discipline that deals with the subject of violence is Sociology, and the following databases may offer additional research articles.  Just be careful that they relate to your Public Health topic.

Scholarly v. Popular

When conducting research, you will usually be asked to find Scholarly Articles, or artices from a Scholarly Journal, rather than popular sources (like magazines and newspapers).

Not sure what the difference is between scholarly and popular?  Check out this short tutorial: Scholarly v. Popular