Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
*****For Cheng Library resources, you must enter your WP Username and Password to access library resources from off-campus*****
Cheng Library News Sources
Use the link above to access the NY Times.You can browse a specific date or search for a topic.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) is a major source of news, legal, and business information, containing over 15,000 full-text publications. The database provides current local, regional, national and international newspapers, broadcast media transcripts, newswires, and blogs.
Full-text access to newspapers and other news media from the United States, Canada, Africa, Asia, Oceania, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East. Important titles include the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Wall Street Journal, The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications, plus many other major news publications.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Full-text index to articles from over 200 periodical titles in the field of communications and mass media studies, with citations and abstracts for articles from over 100 additional periodicals.
ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text.
Locating Country Information-Reliable Websites
BBC Country Profiles
Profiles include the history, politics and economic background of countries and territories.
CIA World Factbook - Country information
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices
Annual publication from the U.S. State Department includes a section on Freedom of Speech and Press for each country.
Cheng Library Ebooks
If you are looking for an ebook on a particular country, check out the link to learn how to search for a Cheng Library ebook!
Locating Country and Statistical Information
Accessible from the Library homepage, the Statista database is a portal to statistical information that includes country information, pulling together data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single platform. Search for a country to view a variety of statistics.
Cheng Library Industry Reports
This database contains detailed proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, with additional information about 90 million companies worldwide. Hoover's delivers in-depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, history, products and operations, auditors, rankings, summary financials, top competitors, top officers and more. From the opening screen, please select the "Continue" button to access the database.
IBISWorld - U.S. Industry Reports and iExpert Industry Summaries
A specialist in industry information, IBISWorld provides research and analysis of over 700 U.S. industries and almost 4,000 product segments. Its reports are written at the 5-digit level of the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and they can be searched or browsed within the database according to NAICS code. The reports, updated regularly, provide detailed and comprehensive industry overviews, performance evaluations, an analysis of products and markets, the competitive landscape, an examination of major companies in each industry, operating conditions, and key statistics. The reports, which vary in length between approximately 30 and 50 pages, can be downloaded as complete PDF files, printed by individual section, or searched internally for key terms. The database also provides brief four-page summary reports for each industry covering key statistics, market share and external drivers, industry benchmarks including major markets and cost structure, an industry performance summary, and major industry issue and questions. The summary reports can also be downloaded and printed.