NUR3330H: Research Proposal Development: Locating Resources

The BMJ Best Practice database is designed to assist health professionals make accurate and effective diagnosis and treatment decisions. Containing regularly updated research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion, the database covers prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis for a wide variety of conditions. Contents include condition, assessment, and overview monographs; a drugs database containing information on dosing, availability, formulations, side effects and contraindications; and a collection of patient education leaflets providing summary information on conditions and their causes, treatment options, and other useful information, supporting shared decision-making between patients and healthcare professionals.

The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is the most comprehensive resource for locating published research in nursing and allied health. The full text version includes content from over 600 journals indexed in the database, with many article backfiles extending to 1981. Frequently updated, CINAHL also provides searchers with current awareness of the newest journal articles through a rotating file of "Pre-CINAHL" records containing citation information and links to full-text (where available). [1981 - present]

The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases containing different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Library contains full-text systematic reviews in health care, details of published articles on controlled trails (including the methods used), abstracts of systematic reviews that have been quality-assessed, details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments, and economic evaluations of competing healthcare interventions from around the world.

Access full-text articles from the Library's subscription e-journals using the familiar Google search engine.

For access to our subscription journals through Google Scholar, select the link above and then follow these steps:

1. Click on the top-left corner menu on the screen
2. Select "Settings" from the menu
3. On the next page, select "Library links" from the menu on the left side of the screen
4. Type "wpunj" in the search field and run the search
5. Select "William Paterson University - Cheng Library - Full Text @ Cheng Library" and then click on the "Save" button

This will enable you to see the "Full Text @ Cheng Library" links displayed with your search results.

The Health and Psychosocial Instruments database provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes and manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes and scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. [1985 - present]

MEDLINE provides access to the research literature of medicine and the health sciences. It includes bibliographic information for articles from academic journals covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care, plus links to full-text content where this is available. [1966 - present]

PsycARTICLES offers complete access to the full text of more than 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience. The database currently contains over 160,000 articles from many of the most important journals in psychology, including 34 journals published by the American Psychological Association. Most titles feature complete content from the current issue back to volume 1, issue 1, with complete coverage of all subject areas relevant to psychological science including basic/experimental psychology, clinical psychology, developmental psychology, education and school psychology, health psychology, industrial/organizational psychology, social psychology and social processes. Articles in PsycARTICLES are also accessible through links in the (larger) PsycINFO database. [1894 - present]

PsycTESTS is a research database from the American Psychological Association that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration. The database currently includes over 20,000 records and over 15,000 instances of actual tests or test items. [1910 - Present]

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine contains up-to-date information on a wide variety of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine provides current, scholarly, comprehensive information on health-related topics.

Gale Health and Wellness provides access to medical, statistical, health, and related information from reference sources, full-text articles and other resources. [1997 - present]

Access to over 2,400 full-text journals in the sciences and social sciences.

Scopus is a comprehensive database providing access to the research literature of the natural and physical sciences and the social sciences. The database currently provides over 50 million citation records and indexes over 20,000 peer-reviewed journals, over 390 trade publications, and over 370 book series. Also included are citations for over 5.5 million conference papers from proceedings and journals, over 25 million patent records from five patent offices, and articles in press from over 3,800 journals. [1823 - Present]