LibGuides: Lynnae Failla's LibGuide- Writing in Ancient Civilizations: Ancient Egypt

Database Resources

Britannica School
General encyclopedia that provides information for a variety of subject areas. Select the age level: middle school for your search.
EBSCO Primary Search
Provides articles from elementary magazines, encyclopedia entries, and thousands of images.

NOTE: To access the databases, you may need a username and password. Please go to the library Google Classroom to find the appropriate username and password for each database.

Useful Websites

Ancient History Encyclopedia
This is a trusted encyclopedia that contains a great deal of information on ancient writing systems.
British Museum- Ancient Egypt
Provides a great deal of information about ancient Egypt. Make sure to click through all of the links to fully explore this resource!
National Geographic Kids- Hieroglyphics
View images of ancient Egyptian writing, watch a short clip, and learn each hieroglyphic symbol.
Canadian Museum of History
Thoroughly explains various aspects of ancient Egyptian civilization.
Ancient Scripts- Writing Systems
The website provides very useful information for numerous ancient writing systems.

Resources in Our Library

Cover image

Hieroglyphs, the writing of ancient Egypt
	Call #: 493 KAT Katan, Norma Jean.
	Published 1981
	Introduces hieroglyphs commonly found on tombs, statues, funerary objects, and amulets.

Cover image

ANCIENT EGYPT.
	Call #: 932 HAM HAMILTON, R.
	Published 2007
	Provides a history of Egypt and its culture.

Cover image

The ancient Egyptians
	Call #: 932 MAR Marston, Elsa.
	Series: Cultures of the past
	Published 1996
	Introduces the customs, important events, religions, and famous people of ancient Egypt and includes a timeline of the Egyptian dynasties.

Cover image

Mummies, tombs, and treasure : secrets of Ancient Egypt
	Call #: 932 PER Perl, Lila.
	Published 1987
	Examines the mummies and tombs of ancient Egypt.

Cover image

EGYPT.
	Call #: 962 SIM Simmons, Walter
	Published 2010
	Explore the culture and geography of Egypt.

Cover image

Ms. Frizzle's adventures : ancient Egypt
	Call #: 932 COL Cole, Joanna.
	Published 2001
	Follow Ms. Frizzle and her class on their field trip to ancient Egypt.

Just for Fun!

Tumble Books
Tumblebooks has a variety of fiction and nonfiction titles as well as documentary-style videos on various topics. Complete a keyword search to see what resources are available!

The Egypt Game
	Call #: FIC SNY Snyder, Zilpha Keatley.
	Published 1986
	A group of children, entranced with the study of Egypt, are visited by a secret oracle, become involved in a murder, and befriend the Professor.

The Egyptian Cinderella
	Call #: 398.2 CLI Climo, Shirley.
	Published 1992
	In this version of Cinderella set in Egypt in the sixth century B.C., Rhodopes, a slave girl, eventually comes to be chosen by the Pharaoh to be his queen.

The Curse of the Cheese Pyramid
	Call #: FIC STI
	Series: Geronimo Stilton ; #2
	Published 2004
	Mouse journalist Geronimo Stilton gets the chance of a lifetime when he is sent to Egypt to interview an archeologist and learns a secret about the Seven Wonders of the Ancient Mouse World.