Skip to main content

Mrs. LeMay's LibGuide For Online & Print Sources: Online Resources for Teachers

Online and Print Sources

Literacy Support

A friendly toolbar that sits on the web browser. Install it at the Chrome App Store.

  • Highlight a passage, and hear it out loud
  • Speech to text to help capture thoughts on the fly
  • Word predictions
  • Talking dictionary
  • Language Translator
  • Colored Highlighters 
  • and more!

Search Tips & Tricks

Request Materials

For Fun

There's no right way to solve it, but there's only one right answer.

Improve Your Searching Abilities

Boolean Searching

Databases

These databases are made available through the NJ State Library. 

 

ERIC

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.

 

Green File

GreeFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.

 

Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in TRC are peer-reviewed.

 

Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

 

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier contains indexing for 8,025 publications, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles.

 

MasterFILE Elite

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,050 general reference publications with coverage dating as far back as 1984. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Elite also includes 52 full text reference books and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps and flags.