Skip to main content

ELHE6004: Legal Issues in American Higher Education: Federal & NJ Websites

Federal Legal Basics of Education

The United States Department of Education provides an overview of federal legislation, policies and regulations pertaining to elementary and secondary schools.

Freely Available Federal Legal Resources

The Law Library of the Library of Congress provides an extensive overview of the federal legal system.

The United States Courts site provides an overview of the federal court system.

The Library of Congress THOMAS site is the source for federal legislative information. THOMAS provides several options for finding bills, resolutions, and legislative information.

The United States Code is the codification of all federal laws.

The Code of Federal Regulations is the codification of rules issued by federal departments and agencies of the government.

NJ Secretary of Higher Education

This Secretary of Higher Education provides access to enrollment, retention and the graduation rates and more for all colleges and universities in New Jersey. 

New Jersey Legal Basics of Education

The New Jersey Department of Education page provides access to recent school law decisions in New Jersey. 

Freely Available New Jersey Legal Resources

The New Jersey State Library provides a comprehensive list of links to New Jersey related laws, cases and administrative decisions. Older school law decisions are also available from this page although there are some gaps in coverage.
 
New Jersey Court System Find out how the legal system in New Jersey works by visiting the homepage of the NJ Court system.

New Jersey Legislature Learn how a bill becomes a law in New Jersey.

New Jersey State Constitution  Includes a search feature.

New Jersey Statutes  Link to the laws of New Jersey. There is a search feature but there are limitations.

New Jersey Administrative Code Link to the Department of Education website that includes Education, Title 6A.