Skip to main content

WP Honors Cluster: Locating Resources

This guide provides an overview of resources for students enrolled in the Public Speaking, College Writing and Ethical Well Being Honors Cluster Course

Art Resources

Art Abstracts  provides high-quality indexing of over 600 periodicals covering all topics in art from 1984 to the present, including 280 peer-reviewed journals

Artstor Full-content digital collection of thousands of art images from several art repositories.

 

Locating Resources

While there are some additional databases listed for each of your three assignments, most of you will be able to use the large, interdisciplinary databases such as Academic Search Complete and Proquest Central to locate articles in peer reviewed journals as well as from popular publications such as Time and the New Yorker. 

Search Tip: Keywords

It is usually a good idea to start out broadly, so using just one or two of your topic terms is a good way to begin. Once you have a set of results, you can begin narrowing down your results by entering one or more terms. Searching in a specific field such as "Subject" or "Title" will narrow or focus your results. 

Additional Databases

America History & Life Bibliographic database contains over 450,000 citations and abstracts for journal and magazine articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations

Gender Watch a full-text database useful for gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research. 

JSTOR Archive of over 1,900 major journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, education, area studies, mathematics and statistics, and much more.

Science Direct Approximately 1200 full-text journals in the sciences and social sciences

Philospher's Index Comprehensive bibliography of scholarly research in philosophy contains more than 450,000 records drawn from over 680 journals, originating from more than 50 countries.