Skip to main content

PSY 6040 Research Methods and Evaluation: Locating Articles

This guide provides an overview of resources and services available for graduate and doctoral students.

Locating Research Articles

Using Library Databases. With more than 130 databases, we have listed some of the most relevant databases for your research needs. You can always click on the Articles & Databases Tab to view the full list of resources. 

Search Tip: Keywords

It is usually a good idea to start out broadly, so using just one or two of your topic terms is a good way to begin. Once you have a set of results, you can begin narrowing down your results by entering one or more terms. Searching in a specific field such as "Subject" or "Title" will narrow or focus your results. 

Search Tip: Truncation

Truncation Finds Multiple Word Forms

The asterisk (*) is usually used to search words with the same root:

 Person* =  Personal, Personality, Personable,  etc.

Wildcard symbols (usually a ‘?’) replace a single letter:

Wom?n = Woman, Women

Search Tip: Use the References

Once you locate a few good articles on your topic, be sure to review the references to other articles that are cited. This is a great way to locate related research articles on your topic. Many databases also provide a link to these articles if they are available electronically. If you don't find a link, be sure to check the Library's Journals A-Z List to see if it's available, If not, you can always use our awesome Interlibrary Loan Service

Recommended Databases

PsycInfo contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 
 
PsycARTICLES offers complete access to the full text of more than 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.
 
JSTOR  Archive of over 1,900 major journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, education, area studies, mathematics and statistics, and much more
 
Scopus is a comprehensive database providing access to the research literature of the natural and physical sciences and the social sciences
 
MEDLINE provides access to the research literature of medicine and the health sciences. There are two additional interfaces. MEDLINE via Proquest and MEDLINE via PubMed
 
Proquest Dissertations and Theses. This full-text database includes nearly 3 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over 1 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
 
Google Scholar  Using the link from this page or the Library database page allows you to search in Google Scholar and retrieve results that are identified as being available in Cheng Library. 
 

Looking for a Specific Journal?

Use the Journals A-Z tab located on the Library homepage to search for a specific publication by title. 

Additional Databases

Cabell's Directories: Business, Education, Psychology and Psychiatry. Ready to publish? Check this database to identify potential journals. 

Published International Literature on Post Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) Index to journal articles, books, book chapters, doctoral dissertations, government reports, and miscellaneous other publications dealing with research on traumatic stress. 

SocIndex This research database provide access to the broad spectrum of sociological study.

WorldCat is the world's largest and most comprehensive union catalog, currently featuring over 271 million bibliographic records that represent more than 1 billion individual items held by participating institutions. 

 

Locating Survey Questions

PsycTESTS is a research database from the American Psychological Association that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes and manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes and scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.

Creating Personal Folders in Databases

Many, if not all, of the library databases allow you to create accounts within the database to store your articles and searches for future reference.

When completing a search, you will often see options such as "Mark" or "Add to Folder" . If you decide to use this feature you will need to create an account in the database. The good news is that once you create an account in an EBSCO database such as PsycInfo, you can add items from any of their databases using the same username and password. The same holds true for the ProQuest databases.

Saving your citations/articles within the database also allows you to export them into RefWorks all at the same time.