Skip to main content

PCOM 7150 Social Media Communication: Locating Articles

This guide provides an overview of resources relevant to your research needs.

Locating Research Articles

Using Library Databases: When conducting your literature review, you should try to find as much information about previous research on your topic as possible.With more than 130 databases, we have listed some of the most relevant databases for your research. All of these databases are accessible from off campus.

Search Tip: Keywords

It is usually a good idea to start out broadly, so using just one or two of your topic terms is a good way to begin. Once you have a set of results, you can begin narrowing down your results by entering one or more terms. Searching in a specific field such as "Subject" or "Title" will narrow or focus your results. 

Search Tip: Truncation

Truncation Finds Multiple Word Forms

The asterisk (*) is usually used to search words with the same root:

 Person* =  Personal, Personality, Personable,  etc.

Wildcard symbols (usually a ‘?’) replace a single letter:

Wom?n = Woman, Women

Search Tip: Use the References

Once you locate a few good articles on your topic, be sure to review the references to other articles that are cited. This is a great way to locate related research articles on your topic. Many databases also provide a link to these articles if they are available electronically. If you don't find a link, be sure to check the Library's Journals A-Z List to see if it's available, If not, you can always use our awesome Interlibrary Loan Service

Locating Research Articles

Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text access for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for thousands of additional sources. Dates and coverage vary. 

Business Source Premier  offers full text access to more than 8,000 business publications including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals. 

Academic Search Complete includes more than 8500 periodicals (newspapers, magazines and journals) in all subject areas. Most articles are available full-text online.

PsycInfo contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 
 
Proquest Central  ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text.
 
Google Scholar  Using the link from this page or the Library database page allows you to search in Google Scholar and retrieve results that are identified as being available in Cheng Library. 
 

Creating Personal Folders in Databases

Many, if not all, of the library databases allow you to create accounts within the database to store your articles and searches for future reference.

When completing a search, you will often see options such as "Mark" or "Add to Folder" . If you decide to use this feature you will need to create an account in the database. The good news is that once you create an account in an EBSCO database such as PsycInfo, you can add items from any of their databases using the same username and password. The same holds true for the ProQuest databases.

Saving your citations/articles within the database also allows you to export them into RefWorks all at the same time.

Locating Survey Questions

PsycTESTS is a research database from the American Psychological Association that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.

Locating Statistical Information

Statista The Statista database is a portal to statistical information, pulling together data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single platform.

 

Locating Company or Industry Information

Hoover's Academic This database contains detailed proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, with additional information about 90 million companies worldwide.