Skip to main content

PCOM7100: Advanced Topics in Professional Writing: Locating Articles

This guide will provide an overview of resources relevant to Media Abstracts, White Papers and Op-Ed pieces.

Locating Articles

Using Library Databases to Find Articles: To locate articles using Library databases, you can click on the tab Articles & Databases from the Library homepage. Since we have more than 100 databases, you can browse them by subject or you can select the first letter of the database name from the alphabetical directory. Most databases are accessible from off campus and some of the databases you may find useful to locate communication and media related articles include: 

Academic Search Complete includes more than 8500 periodicals (newspapers, magazines and journals) in all subject areas. Most articles are available full-text online. Can limit document type to Editorial or Opinion. 
 
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text access for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for thousands of additoinal sources. Dates and coverage vary. Useful for locating articles relevant to areas of communication. 
 
Congressional Quarterly Library select the CQ Researcher to locate reports on various topics. Reports include pro/con opnion contributions. 
 
Lexis/Nexis Academic is a full-text database that provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications, using a variety of flexible search options. Includes access to major national and international newspapers. Search by Content Type-Select News-Limit results to Editorials & Opinions or Letters & Comments
 
Points of View Reference Center Full-text database designed to provide multiple sides of a variety of current issues. The database currently offers materials on 200 topics, and each topic section features an overview along with point and counterpoint essays drawn from a variety of sources. May be useful for locating opinon/postion papers on various topics. 
 
ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more. Can limite document type to Commentary or Editorial. 
 
Proquest Newstand ProQuest Newsstand offers full-text news from over 1,280 sources, including domestic and foreign newspapers, wire services, magazines, trade publications, and blogs. Over 50 of the highest-circulation newspapers in the United States are included in the databaase including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and The Los Angeles Times. Can limit document type to Commentary or Editorial. 

ChengFind: Find Books & Media, Articles, and More!

Learn more

General Search Tips

Database Searching Tips

·     Select/switch to the advanced search option

  • Do a keyword search first to see what is available
  • Too many results? Add an additional term or two
  • Too few results? Think of synonyms for your term(s)
  • Many databases have a Thesaurus function
  • Refine or limit your search to scholarly/peer reviewed articles
  • All databases allow you to print or email your results
  • Use the reference list from an article to locate additional sources