Skip to main content

WGS1800: Gendered Lives & Societies : Locating Articles

Locating Articles

Using Library Databases to Find Articles: To locate articles using Library databases, you can click on the tab Articles & Databases from the Library homepage. Since we have more than 100 databases, you can browse them by subject or you can select the first letter of the database name from the alphabetical directory. Most databases are accessible from off campus and some of the databases you may find useful to locate communication and media related articles include:

Academic Search Complete includes more than 8500 periodicals (newspapers, magazines and journals) in all subject areas. Most articles are available full-text online.
 
Business Source Premier Business Source Premier is a major business database. It includes articles from popular business magazines, trade publications and academic journals. 
 
ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more. 
 
Proquest Education Journals Indexes over 800 education related periodical titles. Full text access is available for 650 titles. 
 
PsycInfo contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. 
 
SocIndex This research database provide access to the broad spectrum of sociological study featuring more than 2.1 million records.  

General Search Tips

Database Searching Tips

·     Select/switch to the advanced search option

  • Do a keyword search first to see what is available
  • Too many results? Add an additional term or two
  • Too few results? Think of synonyms for your term(s)
  • Many databases have a Thesaurus function
  • Refine or limit your search to scholarly/peer reviewed articles
  • All databases allow you to print or email your results
  • Use the reference list from an article to locate additional sources

Scholarly vs Popular

ChengFind: Find Books & Media, Articles, and More!

Learn more