LibGuides: TBED6400: Content Area Instruction for ESL: Finding Books on Multicultural Topics

Selected Lists of Books

These are lists, usually selected by librarians, of highly recommended books in a particular subject area, or for a particular age group. For additional lists go to the American Library Association website, www.ala.org, and click on Awards and Grants.

Notable Social Studies Trade Books For Young People
An annual reading list of exceptional books by the Children's Book Council for use in social studies classrooms, selected by social studies educators appointed by the NCCS, in the K-12 classroom.
Pura Belpre Award
The Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.
Mildred Batchelder Award
This medal is awarded to an American publisher for an outstanding children's book originally published in a foreign language in a foreign country, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States.

Specialized Subject Bibliographies

A list of print bibliographies to help find children's books about social studies and multicultural topics. The Cheng Library will not have many of the titles listed. You may need to use your local public or school library.

Across Cultures by Kathy East; Rebecca L. Thomas
Call Number: [CMC-Reference] Z1037 .E19 2007
ISBN: 9781591583363
Publication Date: 2007
A guide to multicultural literature for children that describes over 400 fiction and nonfiction titles for preschool through grade 6. Organized by thematic groupings, this collection also provides suggestions of activities.
Books about the Middle East by Tami C. Al-Hazza; Katherine Toth Bucher
Call Number: CMC Z3013 .A47 2008
ISBN: 9781586832858
Publication Date: 2008
Provides background information about the Middle East and how to select and use books in the curriculum.
Crossing boundaries with children's books by Doris Gebel
Call Number: [CMC-Reference] Z1037.A1 C825 2006
ISBN: 0810852039
Publication Date: 2006
Organized by geographic region this bibliography identifies nearly 700 children's books about countries outside the United States.
Latina and Latino voices in literature : lives and works by Frances Ann Day
Call Number: [CMC-Reference] PS153.H56 D28 2003
ISBN: 0313323941
Publication Date: 2003
Focusing on the life and work of 35 authors this collection gives brief biographical information and annotations of the author's work.
The Pura Belpre Awards by Rose Zertuche Trevino (Editor)
Call Number: [CMC-Reference] Z1037.A2 P87 2006
ISBN: 9780838935620
Publication Date: 2006
Celebrating Puerto-Rican born librarian, Pura Belpre, this describes books that have won the Pura Belpre Award and gives background about the Latino authors and illustrators. Suggested activities are also included.
Recommended books in Spanish for children and young adults, 2004-2008 by Isabel Schon
Call Number: [CMC-Reference] Z1037.7 .S387 2009
ISBN: 0810863863
Publication Date: 2009
Annotated list of more than 1200 high quality books written in Spanish and published in the U.S. and 4 Spanish speaking countries. Includes fiction and non-fiction for preschool through high school.

Education Librarian

Neil Grimes

Email Me

Contact:

Education & Curriculum Materials Librarian
Office, Room 114c
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-3184

Subjects: Education Research, Education, Elementary & Early Childhood P-8, Education, Middle & Secondary 6-12, Educational Leadership and Professional Studies

Have a Question? Contact a Librarian:

By phone

Call 973-720-2116

The Reference Desk is staffed until 10PM Sunday-Friday and until 8:00pm on Saturday.

By e-mail

Send your question to the Reference Desk via email - refdesk@wpunj.edu