LibGuides: MUSI5300: Research Techniques: Overview Resources

Overview Sources

The Cheng Library has a small, but useful Reference Collection, located on the first floor of the building. While these items cannot be checked out, you may want to spend some time exploring the following resources (and others!).

Note: Recent (and ongoing) maintenance of the collection may have moved some of these items to our 2nd Floor Circulating collection, where they can be borrowed.

Oxford handbook of qualitative research in American music education This three volume set explores qualitative research in music education, including: Approaches to qualitative research (vol. 1), Collecting, analyzing and reporting data (vol. 2), and Models of qualitative research (vol. 3).
Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning
The New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning
Music Education Research
MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning
Free Jazz and Free Improvisation
The Oxford Companion to Jazz
Music Business Handbook and Career Guide
The Musician's Business and Legal Guide
The Music Industry Handbook
Music in the Marketplace

Progression of Literature

This (very) general diagram outlines the relative ages of different music-related subjects that you may be researching. Note that music has been around for a LONG time, and that it is likely that a lot of research has been done on music, in general.

As we get closer to modern times, though, there may be less research on the different topics, and the types of sources used will vary.

Music Education has been around the longest, allowing for specialists and scholars to conduct in-depth research, which has resulted in books, reports, articles and other documents.
Jazz is still a growing genre, but has quite a bit of history behind it. Therefore, you will find some of the same types of resources as music education, although probably fewer examples. In addition, there are current performances that may be documented in news sources, rather than scholarly journals and books.
And finally, music management is probably the newest research area that you'll be researching, meaning that more items will be found in news sources than books and scholarly articles, although this information certainly exists.

As you conduct your research, keep this in mind, as is may determine the types of databases and resources that you use to find information.

Suggested Periodicals and Overview Sources

Because each of you will be approaching your research from a different angle, the following examples might be of particular use. Be sure to perform your own searches, to see what else is out there:

	Trade Publications	Scholarly Journals	Overview Sources
Music Education	Music Educators Journal Instrumentalist	Bulletin - Council for Research in Music Education Journal of Research in Music Education	The handbook of research on music teaching and learning The new handbook of research on music teaching and learning (also as ebook) The Oxford Handbook of Music Education
Jazz	Down Beat	Journal of Jazz Studies Annual Review of Jazz Studies	Jazz Research and Performance Materials The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (also included in Oxford Music Online) The Oxford companion to jazz
Music Management	Billboard Music Industry Newswire	Popular Music	Music business handbook and career guide The musician's business and legal guide The SAGE handbook of popular music (online)
General Resources		Music Perception Music & Letters	Oxford Music Online New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (also part of Oxford Music Online)

It's also important to consider the accuracy of the information, and whether or not is has been filtered, modified, or combined with other content.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference's Academic Core This link opens in a new window
The Credo Reference database is a portal to over 1,300 full-text reference titles from over 120 major publishers. Easy to search and browse, the Credo platform provides access to text, images, maps, statistics, and graphic concept maps to illustrate connections among and between topics. The titles, which range across subjects in art, biography, business, geography, history language, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, the social sciences, and technology, are fully integrated through the Credo search platform, and the Credo database also provides numerous points for accessing other Cheng Library resources. Credo is a most useful starting point for general research on almost any topic.