LibGuides: Philosophy: Find Articles

Databases Subject Specific, Multi-Disciplinary and Inter-Disciplinary

What is a database? Are they all subject-specific? What is inter-disciplinary and multi-disciplinary?

Good Questions!

A database is a collection of materials, typically journal content (articles) within a set parameter of limitations. Some are Subject-Specific, meaning everything in the database is related to a narrow subject field. Some are multi-disciplinary, meaning they cover more than one academic discipline, such as sociology and criminal justice. Interdisciplinary means a database contains materials that cross multiple disciplines, such as research on political philosophy that crosses both political science and philosophy disciplines.

Choosing the right database is important and you may have to try a few database options to find resources relevant to your topic.

Databases Related to Philosophical Research

ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window The American Council of Learned Societies Humanities E-Book Collection offers over 5,400 full-text, cross-searchable books in the humanities selected by scholars for their continuing importance for research and teaching. The collection includes titles from over 100 publishers of scholarly and academic books and covers a wide variety of humanities disciplines. Among the subjects covered are: archaeology, art, Biblical studies, environmental studies, film and media studies, folklore, hip-hop studies, history, Jewish studies, law, LGBT/Queer studies, linguistics, literature and literary criticism, medicine, musicology, performance studies, philosophy, political science, religion, science/technology, sociology, and women’s studies. The interface provides for viewing the books through scanned page images, plain text, or PDF, and 10-page excepts can be downloaded in PDF as well. [1857 - present]ebook
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, the database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. [ 1947 - Present ]
ABI/Inform Complete (Business Periodicals Database) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive full-text source on business topics, ABI/INFORM features scholarly research from peer-reviewed journals (including over 3,000 full-text publications), trade and industry news, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Specialized subsidiary databases include accounting and tax news, banking and financial services news and research, proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives from Hoover's, pharmaceutical and telecommunications industry news, international market and industry research reports, and analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance. [August 1971 - Present]
ERIC (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window The ERIC database, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, provides access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials. Included in the database are citation records, abstracts, and (where available) full-text links for journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. [1966 - present]
Human Relations Area Files: eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window Full-text collection of ethnographic field reports and monographs covering the cultures of the world. An excellent resource for in-depth and comparative study of cultures.
JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections (I through IX, and XIV) This link opens in a new window Archive of over 1,450 major journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, education, area studies, mathematics and statistics, and much more. Funding for the acquisition of the JSTOR Arts and Sciences V, VI, VIII, and IX Collections was provided by a generous gift from the Student Government Association. [18th Century - Present]
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window The MLA International Bibliography is a bibliographic database to journal articles, books, and dissertations relating to all forms of human communication. Coverage includes literature from all over the world - Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The database currently contains over 2 million records back to 1926 and covers over 4,400 journals. Links to full-text articles are provided in the database where these are available. [1926 - present]
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Approximately 2,500 titles are now being monitored for coverage; of these, around 60% are published outside the United States. As well as journals, the database also indexes books, book chapters, reviews of books and other media, and dissertations. [ 1975 - Present ]

Philosophy Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Large, interdisciplinary full-text database contains over 4,800 full-text publications, including academic journals, magazines, books, and trade publications. Offers broad subject coverage for a variety of disciplines, including anthropology, area studies, biology, chemistry, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and many other fields. Funded by the the New Jersey State Library.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more. The publications include over 6,500 scholarly journals, over 3,600 trade publications, over 2,000 magazines and newspapers, and over 800 industry reports, plus dissertations and theses, company annual reports, and videos.
ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to newspapers and other news media from the United States, Canada, Africa, Asia, Oceania, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East. Important titles include the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Wall Street Journal, The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications, plus many other major news publications.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) is a major source of news, legal, and business information, containing over 15,000 full-text publications. The database provides current local, regional, national and international newspapers, broadcast media transcripts, newswires, and blogs. The legal section offers federal and state statutes, administrative codes, court opinions, briefs, pleadings and motions, administrative materials, law reviews and legal news. The business sections contains information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives, including company profiles, SEC filings, analyst reports, directories, and more. Nexis Uni also offers several useful personalized features for students and faculty who create individual accounts on the database after logging in, including the ability to customize the home page, save searches for later re-use, create search alerts on topics of interest, bookmark documents for later viewing, and retain search history to identify previously-viewed documents. With a personal account, students and faculty can also collaborate by creating and sharing research folders, sharing search strings, and highlighting or annotating documents in a folder.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliography of scholarly research in philosophy contains more than 450,000 records drawn from over 680 journals, originating from more than 50 countries. The literature coverage dates back to 1940 and includes print and electronic journals, books, anthologies, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index covers scholarly research in all major areas of philosophy. [1940 - Present]

Subject Guide

Bill Duffy

Email Me

Contact:

Bill Duffy

Head of Reference

David & Lorraine Cheng Library

William Paterson University

Reference Office 107c

973-720-3191

Subjects: English, Philosophy, Psychology