LibGuides: MBA6400: Business, Government and Society: How to Find Journal Articles

Tips for Searching ABIand Other Proquest Databases

Here are a few suggestions for searching the ABI database:

put your search terms in quotation marks or use the thesaurus to help determine best terms
use the "preview" feature to sort through your results
search results are sorted by relevance as the default; change to date if necessary
look at the results by type of source (scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines)

Tips for Searching Business Source Premier and Other Ebsco Databases

Suggestions for searching Business Source Premier

use the thesaurus if you have difficulty finding the best terms
search for your terms in the subject field or abstract
check to see if your results are listed by relevance or by date
add the best of the results to a folder for email or saving
use the cite feature to help prepare the citation

Selected Journals

This is a representative list of journals. Use the link to the journal to browse or search through the issues online. For many of your topics, a search in one or more of the databases will be a better choice since it will guide you to a variety of articles in different journals.

How to Find Journal/Scholarly Articles

The same databases used to find popular articles can be used to locate journal articles. In Academic Search Complete, ABI, Business Source Premier and Proquest Central, the results of your search are sorted into categories such as "magazines" or "scholarly or peer-reviewed". Choose the "scholarly or peer-reviewed option to find journal articles.

When using Lexis-Nexis, it is best to select US Legal then select Law Reviews.

ABI
ABI is a major business database. It includes articles published in business periodicals, trade publications, academic journals and the Wall Street Journal.
Academic Search Complete
Covers a wide range of disciplines; Sources include popular magazines and journals
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier is a major business database. It includes articles from popular business magazines, trade publications and academic journals.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides links to articles in academic journals and books. Not everything is free. Use Google Scholar from the Library database page to link to articles owned by the Cheng Library.
ProQuest Central
Covers a wide range of disicplines; includes articles from both popular and scholarly literature
Library Database List
Occasionally, another database might be a good source for certain topics. For example, CINAHL may be a good source for articles dealing with health care.
Westlaw Campus Research
Westlaw Campus Research contains federal and state case law, U.S. Supreme Court briefs, federal and state statutes and administrative codes, a collection of legal journals and law reviews, reference materials including American Jurisprudence, American Law Reports, and Black's Law Dictionary, and European Union legal materials.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) is a major source of news, legal, and business information, containing over 15,000 full-text publications. The database provides current local, regional, national and international newspapers, broadcast media transcripts, newswires, and blogs. The legal section offers federal and state statutes, administrative codes, court opinions, briefs, pleadings and motions, administrative materials, law reviews and legal news. The business sections contains information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives, including company profiles, SEC filings, analyst reports, directories, and more. Nexis Uni also offers several useful personalized features for students and faculty who create individual accounts on the database after logging in, including the ability to customize the home page, save searches for later re-use, create search alerts on topics of interest, bookmark documents for later viewing, and retain search history to identify previously-viewed documents. With a personal account, students and faculty can also collaborate by creating and sharing research folders, sharing search strings, and highlighting or annotating documents in a folder.