Skip to main content

COMM2490: Research Methods in Applied Communication: Locating Articles

Search Tip: Keywords

It is usually a good idea to start out broadly, so using just one or two of your topic terms is a good way to begin. Once you have a set of results, you can begin narrowing down your results by entering one or more terms. Searching in a specific field such as "Subject" or "Title" will narrow or focus your results. 

Search Tip: Truncation

Truncation Finds Multiple Word Forms

The asterisk (*) is usually used to search words with the same root:

 Person* =  Personal, Personality, Personable,  etc.

Wildcard symbols (usually a ‘?’) replace a single letter:

Wom?n = Woman, Women

Search Tip: Use the References

Once you locate a few good articles on your topic, be sure to review the references to other articles that are cited. This is a great way to locate related research articles on your topic. Many databases also provide a link to these articles if they are available electronically. If you don't find a link, be sure to check the Library's Journals A-Z List to see if it's available, If not, you can always use our awesome Interlibrary Loan Service

Locating Articles

Using Library Databases to Find Articles: To locate articles using Library databases, you can click on the tab Articles & Databases from the Library homepage and browse by subject or you can select the first letter of the database name. Since we have more than 135 databases, listed below are some of the databases you may find useful to locate communication and media related articles. 

Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text access for over 500 titles and contains citation coverage for thousands of additional sources. Dates and coverage vary.
 
ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more. 
 
Business Source Premier Business Source Premier is a major business database. It includes articles from popular business magazines, trade publications and academic journals. 
 
Academic Search Complete includes more than 8500 periodicals (newspapers, magazines and journals) in all subject areas. Most articles are available full-text online.
 
PsycInfo contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.    
 
Proquest Education Journals Indexes over 800 education related periodical titles. Full text access is available for 650 titles.
 

Google Scholar Using the link from the database page will identify results that the library has in the collection.

 

Locating Statistical Information

Statista The Statista database is a portal to statistical information, pulling together data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single platform.

 

Take a Closer Look

Scholarly vs Popular

Looking for Newspaper Articles?

Lexis/Nexis Academic and Proquest Newsstand are the databases you should use if you need to locate newspaper articles.  

Creating Personal Folders in Databases

Many, if not all, of the library databases allow you to create accounts within the database to store your articles and searches for future reference.

When completing a search, you will often see options such as "Mark" or "Add to Folder" . If you decide to use this feature you will need to create an account in the database. The good news is that once you create an account in an EBSCO database such as PsycInfo, you can add items from any of their databases using the same username and password. The same holds true for the ProQuest databases.

Saving your citations/articles within the database also allows you to export them into RefWorks all at the same time.