LibGuides: Public Relations: E-Marketing and Media Planning

Media Planning

These resources are from Kate Pittsley's fantastic article "Where to advertise: Media planning resources on the web."

To get you started, advertising and marketing vocabulary is defined at these sites:

American Marketing Association (AMA) Dictionary. The entire AMA Dictionary contains more than 4,000 terms and is regularly updated. Access: http://www.marketingpower.com/_layouts/Dictionary.aspx.

IAB Interactive Advertising Wiki. The Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) has a collaborative glossary to keep up with terms for new forms of advertising and new waysto automate ad purchasing. Access: http://www.iab.net/wiki/.

eMarketing forums and blogs

Media-focused Trade Associations

American Business Media (ABM)
Students planning a business-to-business (B2B) campaign might use the News/Reports section of the ABM site to find case studies of various ways to reach B2B customers.
Association of Magazine Media (MPA)
Magazine Media Factbook provides statistics about magazine readership and engagement, including figures for consumers of specific product types. Elsewhere on the site, find magazine advertising case studies by industry or advertiser.
Cabletelevision Advertising Bureau (CAB)
This database of cable network profiles is invaluable for media planners. Profiles include estimates of network viewers, base demographics, and programming genres. Look closely to find PDF files with complete profiles that offer more details about audience demographics.
Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB)
IAB is a trade association for many types of digital media, including online, wireless,social media, interactive television, and gaming. The IAB site has educational materials on interactive marketing, including case studies, research summaries, industry statistics, and industry guidelines.
Local Search Association (formerly the Yellow Pages Association)
Directory services expanded to print, digital, social media, and mobile formats. Resources section offers vendor directory, free research reports on usage of specific yellow pages headings (print and online).
Mobile Marketing Association (MMA)
Free resources related to wireless advertising (best practices, case studies, an industry directory).
National Association of Broadcasters Online Resource Guide
Use this member directory to identify radio and television stations by state, city, or designated market area. Unfortunately, only members are listed and stations are not linked, so you must google station names for details.
Newspaper Association of America (NAA)
The trends and numbers section this site reports
statistics on readership, newspaper web audience, and average issue demographic composition—often based on
independent numbers from Scarborough Research.
Online Publishers Association (OPA)
OPA represents established news, information, and entertainment web publishers, such as About.com and WebMD, and media companies like PBS, Disney, or The New York Times. OPA research reports include studies of media effectiveness that often rely on third-party analysis.
Outdoor Advertising Association of America
Site offers effectiveness studies, statistics, creative examples, and educational materials on numerous types of out-of-home advertising, such as billboards,
transit advertising (subways, buses, airports), place-based advertising (malls,stadiums, cinemas).
Radio Advertising Bureau (RAB)
Offers detailed audience statistics, consumer studies, and educational material on radio advertising. The large database of MP3 radio ads in the creative section can be searched by industry and product type.
Syndicated Network Television Association(SNTA)
Sells program packages to local television
stations, including re-runs, movies, daytime series, and other original programming. In addition to educational materials and reports on the effectiveness of syndicated television advertising, the site offers a database of syndicated programming that can be sorted multiple ways, including by genre or target audience.
Television Advertising Bureau (TVB)
Promotes advantages of advertising on local stations and offers useful information for media planners. Designated Marketing Area profiles offer statistics on television households and local station links. Elsewhere on the site you’ll find Nielsen ratings and rankings of various types of programming, as well as numerous relevant television advertising statistics and educational materials. The cost trend statistics can be used for estimating media budgets.