Skip to main content

SPED6290: Current Issues in Special Education: Introduction

Welcome to the David & Lorraine Cheng Library

Thank you for visiting the Library Research Guide for SPED6290: Current Issues in Special Education. This guide will connect you to library resources and services to help you in this course.

Your comments are welcome! Please let me know if this guide meets your needs.

  Have a Question? Contact a Librarian:

 

By phone

Call 973-720-2116

The Reference Desk is staffed until 10PM Sunday-Friday and until 8:00pm on Saturday.

By e-mail

Send your question to the Reference Desk via email - refdesk@wpunj.edu   Allow 24 hours for a response. 

Schedule a Research Appointment

Contact the library for an appointment with a Reference Librarian: Schedule Research Help  

What this guide contains:

This is a guide to resources for SPED6290: Current Issues in Special Education. Here's what you'll find:

Getting Started: Includes tips for identifying a research topic, and developing a research questions or thesis statement.

Finding Books and Media about Education: Includes a link to the Online Catalog of the David & Lorraine Cheng Library, as well as links to some books and videos in the Library's collection.

Finding Articles about Education: Includes links to databases of articles about education, tips for searching, and a tutorial about the differences between scholarly and popular articles.

When the Article or Book isn't Available: Links to library services to help you get articles and books that the Library doesn't have, or doesn't have in online format.

Citing in APA format: Links to publications, websites and online tutorials to help you cite correctly in APA 6th edition.

RefWorks: RefWorks is a bibliographic manager that enables you to save citations and create them in correct APA format. This includes directions to create a RefWorks account, import citations and print a reference list.

Writing your Paper: Links to online sources to help with writing and paraphrasing to help you avoid plagiarism.

 

Library Services for Graduate Students

As a graduate student, there are a variety of Library services available to you. This link will introduce you to many of these services.

Here are some highlights:

Graduate students may borrow most print books for one semester. A WPUNJ ID card is required to borrow materials from Cheng Library. If you don't have a WPUNJ ID card you need to go to Hospitality Services, located in the Student Center. The ID Center is open 8:30 to 4:30 Monday through Friday. Check here for their late night hours.

The Graduate Study Room in Library 211 contains individual study carrels and soft seating. All registered WPUNJ graduate students can access by swiping their student IDs. 

William Paterson Master's Theses are located in the Reference area on the 1st floor of Cheng Library. More recent William Paterson theses are available through the database, Theses @ The William Paterson University of New Jersey

 

Education Librarian

Yvonne Roux
Contact:
Cheng Library, Room 114c

William Paterson University

300 Pompton Rd.

Wayne, NJ 07470

973-720-3184

rouxy@wpunj.edu
Website / Blog Page