LibGuides: Sociology Resources: Reference Resources

Search Books & Media

Search the Cheng Library online catalog for books and media. If you need journal articles, go to our Databases page.

Why Use Books?

For many, the idea of using a book to locate information might seem old fashioned. But, the reality is that there is still a lot of information NOT available online. The library owns a wide variety of print resources on topics related to sociology, all of which can be found using the online catalog.

Our extensive collection of reference books are a great starting point for your research projects, allowing you to learn about your topic, before you start searching for articles in our many databases.

Bibliographies & Guides

Criminal Justice Information: How to Find It, How to Use It by Dennis C. Benamati, et al.
Call Number: REF HV7419.5.C75
Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press, 1998.
Handbook of Data Analysis by Melissa Hardy and Alan Bryman
Call Number: REF H62.H224
London; Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage, 2004.
The International Handbook of Sociology by Stella R. Quah and Arnaud Sales
Call Number: HM24.I575
London; Thousand Oaks, Calif.: SAGE, 2000.
Sociology Basics by Carl L. Bankston III
Call Number: REF HM425.S63
Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, c2000. - 2 v.: ill.; 24 cm.
Survey of Social Science. Sociology Series by Frank N. Magill
Call Number: REF HM17.S86
Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, c1994.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: A User's Guide to Sociological Language by Allan Johnson
Call Number: REF HM17.J64
Cambridge, Mass.: Blackwell, 1995.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Malden, Mass.: Blackwell Publishing, 2007.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Sociology by Gordon Marshall
Call Number: REF HM17.C66
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1994.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice by Joshua Dressler
Call Number: REF HV6017.E52
New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2002.
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior by Clifton D. Bryant
Call Number: REF HV6017.E53
Philadelphia, PA: Brunner/Routledge, 2000.
Encyclopedia of Modern American Social Issues by Michael Kronenwetter
Call Number: REF HN57.K73
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c1997.
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement by Kimberly Kempf-Leonard
Call Number: REF H62.E627
San Diego, Calif.; London: Academic, 2005.
Encyclopedia of Sociology, Second Edition by Edgar F. Borgatta
Call Number: REF HM17.E5
Detroit: Macmillan Reference, USA, 2000.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by Neil J. Smelser and Paul B. Baltes
Call Number: REF H41.I58
New York: Elsevier Science, 2001.
The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods by Michael S. Lewis-Beck, Alan Bryman, Tim Futing Liao
Call Number: REF H62.L456
Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage, 2004.
Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime by Lawrence M. Salinger
Call Number: REF HV6768.E63
Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 2005.

Sociology in the Library

Because sociology covers so many subjects, the library's collection is located in a number of different places. Therefore, it's always a good idea to find the call number before venturing upstairs to make sure that you're in the right place.

If you're feeling adventurous, though, and just want to browse through our collection, here's a partial guide to the Library of Congress call number ranges to get you started:

H: Social Sciences (General)
HM: Sociology (General)
- HM435-477: History of sociology. History of sociological theory.
- HM811-821: Deviant behavior. Social deviance.
HN: Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform.
HQ: The Family. Marriage. Women.
- HQ767.8-792.2: Children. Child development.
- HQ793-799.2: Youth. Adolescents. Teenagers.
- HQ1073-1073.5: Thanatology. Death. Dying.
- HQ1075-1075.5: Sex role.
HT: Communities. Classes. Races.
- HT601-1445: Classes.
- HT1501-1595: Races.
HV: Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology.
- HV4701-4890.9: Protection of animals. Animal rights. Animal welfare.
- HV5800-5840: Drug habits. Drug abuse.
- HV6001-7220.5: Criminology.
- HV7231-9960: Criminal justice administration.